> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://docs.b2ihealthcare.com/snow-owl-authoring-platform/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://docs.b2ihealthcare.com/snow-owl-authoring-platform/7.19.1/collaborative-authoring/authoring/promoting-and-closing-tasks.md).

# Promoting and Closing Tasks

After a task reached the Verified state it is ready to be promoted and committed into the MAIN repository. You need to click the **`Promote`** button in the *Actions* section. If it is disabled that means that the task has not been reviewed and verified.

{% hint style="success" %}
After a successful promotion, the life cycle of the task gets to the end: the task is automatically inactivated.&#x20;
{% endhint %}

From this point it cannot be reopened anymore. In the **Task List View** the item will not be present after starting a new session in the client.

Tasks can be closed without promoting changes using the **`Close`** button in the **Task Editor**. The button is available in three states: Open, In progress, and Verified. When the button is clicked, a dialog pops up asking to confirm that the user surely wants to close the task. Pressing **`Close`** ends up inactivating the task. From this point it cannot be reopened anymore.
